April 05, 2022

ACA: Deployment for ACA 2022 - Cannot Remove Custom Profile

Finally had some time to start preparing for the creation of a deployment for AutoCAD Architecture 2022. This is the first deployment for an AutoCAD-based product that I will be creating on the new, web-based system, as we typically only deploy every other year. I worked my way through the limited options under Customizations and came to the last section, Custom Profile. We have multiple custom profiles, one for each discipline, and did not try to include those in the deployment previously. I wanted to see if more than one could be added. I exported profiles to two test ARG files, and added one of them, then tried to add the other.

I quickly found that you can only add one; attempting to add another replaces the first one with the second one. All well and fine; all of the text related to custom profile is singular. What prompted this blog post, as a note to my future self, is the fact that there does not appear to be a way to remove a custom profile once you add one. So it looks like I will be trashing what I have done so far and starting over.

March 08, 2022

Revit: BIM 360 Model Synchronization Error

A user had a curious synchronization error today, on a model hosted on our BIM 360 hub. He emailed me the screen shot below.

I did not know what to make of this - of course the [insert ridiculously long GUID here].rvt file already exists! That is the file he was synchronizing, and had been synchronizing successfully all day, up to that point. And why ask the apparently rhetorical question, "Do you want to replace the exiting file?", when there is no opportunity to respond to it? I was perfectly willing to trash the backup versions, as we have not had need to try to pull backups from someone's local cache on a BIM 360 project. (And thank goodness for that, as it is a royal pain just figuring out which [insert ridiculously long GUID here].rvt file is which.) A quick Google search did not generate any useful leads on how to proceed.

I walked over to the indivudual's workstation, repeated the error for myself and got lucky. After dismissing the failed Sync With Central dialog, Revit displayed the ever-popular "You have not saved your model recently" nag dialog. Before I could utter the snarky thought that immediately came to mind, I chose to click on Save. I got another dialog, with the same question about losing backup versions, but this one had Yes and No buttons. I said, yes, save it, and it did. Then I tried to synchronize again, half expecting that Revit would tell me the local was now incompatible with the central, but it synchronized just fine, resolving the crisis.

March 01, 2022

Dynamo: Pin All Revit Links

I have been setting up projects that have a larger than usual number of Revit links in them, and to save myself the bother of having to remember to pin each one after placement (and the bigger bother of repeatedly checking to make sure I did not miss one), I created a graph to pin all of the Revit links in the current model. The graph is rather simple, if you have the Orchid package installed and can use the Element.Pin node contained therein. I was using Revit 2020; those using other Revit versions will likely need a different version of the Orchid package.



This runs nicely in Dynamo Player. No need to select the Edit Inputs tool, as there are no inputs to edit.

February 02, 2022

Revit: Controlling the Initial Open/Close State of Worksets When Opening A Model with the Specify Worksets Option

Apologies for the wordy title on this post, but I want to be absolutely clear that I am NOT talking about how to make the Specify option the default option when opening a Revit model (that is covered in this Autodesk Knowledge Network article). I am talking about the open/close state of each Workset in the Opening Worksets dialog once the "Specify" option is used (either by default, or because you chose Specify by selecting the button with the downward pointing triangle icon to the right of the Open button in the Open dialog).

All credit for this goes to MZ1987, who posted this procedure here. I am documenting it in my blog to make it easier for me to find in the future.

  1. Open the model with Specify.
  2. In the Opening Worksets dialog, select all user-created Worksets and choose the Open button. The values in the Opened column should all be Yes.
  3. After the model opens, open the Worksets dialog. Select all of the user-created worksets and select the Editable button. Set the Open/Close state of each Workset to the way you want it to default in the Opening Worksets dialog. [This is the key step.]
  4. Synchronize the model, using the Synchronize and Modify Settings option, NOT Synchronize Now. In the Synchronize with Central dialog, make certain that the User-created Worksets toggle is checked.
Close the model. The next time you, or anyone else, opens the model, they should see each user-created Workset defaulting to the Open/Close state chosen in Step 3. I have not yet experimented with this extensively, since my current goal was to get all Worksets set to Yes. It probably does not matter what the Open/Close state is on opening, just that you make the user-created Worksets editable and then set the desired state at that time, before synchronizing and relinquishing the user-created Worksets. I expect those settings will hold until the next time someone makes an entire Workset editable and also changes the Open/Close state of that Workset, and then synchronizes. So you may have to repeat this when that happens; we typically just borrow elements, rather than make an entire workset editable, so I do not see that being a major issue for my firm.